2013 ANNUAL SUMMARY

2013 TRUSTEES:

- Mona Robinson, President
- Julie Bower, President-Elect
- Eric Orbock, Treasurer
- Terry Nestor, Secretary
- Ovita Thornton, BOE Representative
- Ginger Davis-Beck
- Lisa Oelke
- Amy Heesacker
- David Meyers
- Catherine Neace
- Ken Sherman
- Heather Sussman
- June Robertson
- Rachel Watkins
- Kim Winston

Ex Officio:

- John Whitehead, Executive Director
- Philip D. Lanoue, Superintendent
- Cheryl Phillips, Historian
- Anisa Sullivan Jimenez, CCSD Liaison
- Susan Dodson, Past President

2013 AWARDS:

Excellence in Teaching Awards:

- Dr. Walter Allen, Sr. Excellence in Teaching Award: Wendy Greer, Fowler Dr. ES
- *Ken Sherman Double Century Excellence Award in Teaching Award:* Em Smith Headley, Barrow ES
- Friends of Eve Carson Excellence in Teaching Award: Stephanie Bradshaw, Timothy Rd. ES
- Joan D. Humphries Excellence in Teaching Award: Marc L. Ginsberg, Cedar Shoals HS
- Newland Family Foundation Excellence in Teaching Award: Lee Rogers, Barrow ES

Chairs and Specialized Awards:

- *Martha Comer Chair for Teachers of Languages:* Sally Dowling, Cedar Shoals HS
- Cardee Kilpatrick Chair for Teachers of Middle School: Holley Ziemann, Hilsman MS
- Ann M. Schindel Chair for Teachers of Mathematics: Greg Huberty, Cedar Shoals HS
- Thomas H. Whitehead Chair for Teachers of Science: Maria Koch, Timothy Rd. ES
- *Kathryn H. Hug Instructional Leadership Award*: Linda Boza, Clarke Central HS
- Howard B. Stroud Award for Community Service: Kelli Bivins, Coile MS
- Freida M. Thomas Teacher of Promise Award: Erin Adamson, Cedar Shoals HS
- Mae M. Whatley Teacher of the Year Award: Aaron Jongko, Whitehead Rd. ES
- Janis J. Stephens Paraprofessional of the Year Award: Valerie Hendry, JJ Harris ES

Student Awards:

- *Gregg W. Lewis Memorial Scholarship:* Patrick Humphreys and Grace Byrne, Clarke Central HS
- *Marge Schneider Science Awards:* Lucas Di'Nennci, Cedar Shoals HS, and Max Germain, Clarke Central HS
- *Eve Carson Humanitarian Awards:* G'Niya Brown (Alps Rd. ES); Sachio Goode (Barnett Shoals ES): Caroline Sartor (Barrow ES); Emily Parks (Chase St. ES): Diego Villfana-Escobar (Cleveland Rd. ES); Daryon Redic (Fowler Dr. ES); Angela Ghimire (Gaines ES); Marilyn Alva-Arroyo (JJ Harris ES); Jimena Somilleda (Oglethorpe Ave. ES); Aaliyah Watson (Stroud ES); Kayla Devereux (Timothy Rd. ES); Ansley Guntermann (Whit Davis ES); Carlos Mazariegos-Alvarez (Whitehead Rd. ES); Eve Williams (Winterville ES); Lauryn Waters (Burney-Harris-Lyons MS); Caroline Caldwell (Clarke MS); Sharon Gonzalez (Coile MS); Enrique Robbins (Hilsman MS); Erin Hollander (Cedar Shoals HS); Dory MacMillan (Clarke Central HS); Michael Strother (Classic City HS)

2013 CLASSROOM GRANTS:

- Sara Orton Glickman Collaborative Project-Based Learning Grant (\$1000): Grace Staniszewski, Fowler Dr. ES
- *Eve Carson Service Learning Grant (\$1000):* Michelle Vecchio-Weinmeister, Clarke MS
- Lane Turner Norton Literacy Grant (\$500): Ginger Lehmann, Clarke Central HS
- Carol Ann Colquitt Special Education Grant (\$500): Erika Douglas, Gaines ES
- *Dr. Jimmy Morris Memorial Fine Arts Grant (\$500 each):* Melanie Powers, Whitehead Rd. ES, and Seyoung Holte, Oglethorpe Ave. ES
- Todd Cooper Memorial Technology Grant (\$500): Amy Hill, Cleveland Rd. ES

- *Friends of Eve Carson Classroom Grant (\$500):* Helene Halstead, Burney-Harris-Lyons MS
- *Arthur Moog Middleton Memorial Media Center Grant:* \$250 each to Clarke Central HS and Cedar Shoals HS media centers

Total of endowed grants was \$4,500.

General Classroom Grants: Non-endowed classroom grants were supported in 2013 by generous gifts from members in the Athens-Clarke County community and beyond. These grants, totaling \$10,400, were made to:

\$1000 Grants:

- Andy Plemmons, Barrow ES
- Melissa Paul, Burney-Harris-Lyons MS
- Stella Guerrero, Cedar Shoals HS
- Jordan Perry, Clarke MS
- Kelli Bivins, Coile MS
- Audrey Hughes, Hilsman MS
- Wynter McBride, Timothy Rd. ES

\$500 Grants:

- Beatrice Elder-Moore, Burney-Harris-Lyons MS
- Diarra Moseley, Hilsman MS
- Katherine Brown, J.J. Harris ES
- Nicole McLaughlin, Timothy Rd. ES
- Deidre Sugiuchi, Oglethorpe Ave. ES
- Treva Moeller, Whit Davis ES

\$200 Grants:

- Carrie Yawn, Barrow ES
- Anne Mauldin, Whit Davis ES

KEY 2013 ACCOMPLISHMENTS

The 2013 Annual Awards Banquet held in October at the Classic Center, Athens, GA celebrated the 30 year anniversary of the Foundation for Excellence in Public Education in Clarke County. The vision for the Foundation's mission is to encourage, recognize and reward educators for excellence, and was conceived by C.B. Lord, Cardee Kilpatrick, and Vernon Payne among others. From these humble beginnings the work of the FFE continues. There are now many endowed chairs, awards, and grants that bear the names of educators and public school supporters who have served the Athens-Clarke County schools through their own dedication to excellence. We are appreciative of the friends and families who have made these endowed awards possible, and we continue to

thank many others who make possible the increased grant awards given to so many others.

The banquet also took on a different format this year with a more interactive setting to allow opportunities for educators and community supporters to engage in conversations that help establish and maintain relationships between all stakeholders. The Foundation is especially appreciative of the generous support for the banquet from the following: Alexander and Company Always, Always Flowers Athens First Bank and Trust Barberitos Classic Center Collins, Cooper, Carusi Architects Georgia Credit Union

New awards were established in 2013 and will be awarded in 2014 for the first time. These awards include:

- The *Seasoned Teacher Award*, a chaired endowment established by retired Clarke County educator Peggy Cole.
- The *Jenny Penney Oliver Award* and a chaired grant established by Steve Oliver, and friends of the late UGA professor, Jenny Penney Oliver, in her memory.

The annual Ken Sherman Double Century Bike Ride was held in May and was, again, a resounding success. This bike ride is from Athens to Savannah and all proceeds of this ride are donated to the Foundation to be used for classroom grants. During the 2013 ride, \$5000 was raised and the Foundation is thankful to Ken and the biking community for this support.

The Foundation was delighted to be able to increase the number of awards given in 2013. Many teachers apply for these awards and honors, and it is through kind donations from supporters that this increase in funds makes more recognition possible.