1985 ANNUAL SUMMARY

1985 TRUSTEES:

- LaGrange DuPree, President
- Daymon E. Jordan, Vice President
- Ernest Taylor, Treasurer
- Bradford G. Brown
- W. Frank Eberhart
- Robert A. Issac
- Richard Lane
- C. B. Lord
- Curtis Miller
- Dorothy Newland
- Don Paulk

Ex Officio:

- Cardee Kilpatrick, Executive Director
- Carol Purvis, Superintendent and Secretary
- Marlene Bryan, CCSD Liaison and Acting Secretary
- Terrell Benton, Attorney

1985 AWARDS:

- Teachers of Excellence:
- Faith Kipp Brown, Cedar Shoals HS
- Kathryn Bumgartner, Hilsman MS
- Jean Lovell, Barnett Shoals ES

KEY 1985 ACCOMPLISHMENTS:

- *By-Laws Amended*. Amendments to the Foundation By-Laws provided for twelve trustees and for an executive director. The Superintendent assumed a non-voting advisory role.
- *Funding Priorities*. Throughout the year, the Trustees addressed the broad base of funding necessary from individuals, groups, and corporations. Contributions for the year totaled nearly \$6,500, including the Junior League contribution described below.
- *Junior League Funds First Teacher Awards*. The Junior League of Athens contributed \$1,500 for teaching awards, making it possible to give each of the three Teachers of Excellence \$500.
- *Citizens for Public Education Offer Support*. The Citizens for Public Education discussed supporting the Foundation through a fundraiser in 1986.

- *Teacher Recognition Underway*. A selection process for the Foundation's initial teaching awards was set up. Three Teachers of Excellence were chosen. The Foundation hosted its first awards banquet in October showcasing these Teachers of Excellence.
- *Annual Audit*. The practice of having an annual audit of the Foundation's finances was begun.