1998 ANNUAL SUMMARY

1998 TRUSTEES:

- Trudy Bradley, President
- Ann Dunn, Secretary
- Bill Douglas, Treasurer
- Barbara Archibald
- Charles Belflower
- Tom Bowen
- Marlene Bryan
- Tom Chasteen
- Anne Cooper
- Joanna Eaton
- Charles Gillespie
- Martee Horne
- Kathy Hug
- John Jeffreys
- David Nowell
- Eileen Sapera

Ex Officio:

- Charlotte Brown, Executive Director
- Lucian Harris, Superintendent

1998 AWARDS:

- Teachers of Excellence:
- Matthew Boggs, Cedar Shoals HS
- Carol Hall, Hilsman MS
- Carmen Jordan, Systemwide
- Susan Rodrigue, Whit Davis ES
- Georgiana Sumner, Alps Rd. ES
- Frusanna S. Booth Chair for Teachers of English and Language Arts: Patti McWhorter, Cedar Shoals HS
- Martha Comer Chair for Teachers of Foreign and Classical Languages: Jim Jones, Clarke Central HS
- Lamar Dodd Chair for Teachers of Art: Brenda Poss, Cedar Shoals HS
- Howard B. Stroud Award: Elaine Dickens, Whit Davis ES
- Mae D. Whatley Teacher of the Year: Brenda Poss, Cedar Shoals HS
- Scholarships for Teaching Assistants: Monique Darrisaw, Fourth St. ES; Philip Tetteh, Cleveland Rd. ES

• *Mini-Grants:* Eleven \$200 mini-grants, five \$500 mini-grants, and five \$1,000 minigrants were awarded for a total of \$9,900. The Newland Foundation funded the grants.

KEY 1998 ACCOMPLISHMENTS:

- *By-Laws Amended*. The by-laws were amended to set the number of trustees at 15 instead of 16.
- *Thaxton Scholarship Established*. Through funding from Fowler Dr. ES, a scholarship will be established in memory of Peggy Thaxton, long-time Fowler secretary.
- *Cooper Memorial Fund Grows*. The family of Todd Cooper added \$5,000 to the memorial fund in his memory, bringing the fund to nearly \$7,300.