1992 ANNUAL SUMMARY

1992 TRUSTEES:

- Joe Chandler, President
- Henry O'Pry, Vice President
- Richard Lane, Treasurer
- Camilla Bracewell
- Tal DuVall
- Peggy Galis
- James A. Klein
- Julie Knowlton
- C. B. Lord
- Connie Nelson
- Donna Trieschmann

Ex Officio:

- Charlotte Brown, Executive Director
- John Balentine, Superintendent and Secretary
- Marlene Bryan, CCSD Liaison and Acting Secretary
- Terrell Benton, Attorney
- Jimmy Morris, CCSD Liaison and Acting Secretary (As of 11/92)
- Cheryl Phillips, Secretary (As of 11/92)

1992 AWARDS:

- Teachers of Excellence:
- Marianne Causey, Barrow ES
- DeLois Gainey, Hilsman MS
- Eleanor McMinn, Alps Rd. ES
- Norma Quinn, Whit Davis ES
- Janice Stowe, Clarke Central HS
- Howard B. Stroud Award: Jim McGown, Barrow ES
- Martha Comer Chair for Teachers of Foreign and Classical Languages: Carolyn Howell, Cedar Shoals HS
- Cardee Kilpatrick Chair for Middle School Teaching: Sue Gammill, Burney-Harris-Lyons MS
- Scholarships for High School Seniors: One at Cedar Shoals HS and one at Clarke Central HS
- *Classroom Grants:* Thirty grants were awarded for a total of \$6,000.

KEY 1992 ACCOMPLISHMENTS:

- Cooking for Excellence. The Citizens for Public Education barbecue earned nearly \$6,000 for the Foundation. The Athens West Rotary Club gave the Foundation the profits of \$3,000 from its annual Chili Cook-Off.
- Luncheon for Award Nominee. Nominees for the Foundation awards were honored at a luncheon in the Taylor-Grady House.
- Clarke County Mentor Program. The Foundation assisted the Athens Area Chamber of Commerce in supporting the development of the Clarke County Mentor Program by serving as the 501(c)3 recipient of grant funding for the project.
- *Kilpatrick Chair Criteria*. Criteria were established for the Cardee Kilpatrick Chair of Middle School Teaching, and the chair was awarded for the first time in 1992.