# **1991 ANNUAL SUMMARY**

### **1991 TRUSTEES:**

- Hilton Young, President
- Joe Chandler, Vice President
- Joan Barnett, Treasurer
- Svea Bogue
- Tal DuVall
- Peggy Galis
- Wyman Hawley
- James Klein
- Julie Knowlton
- C. B. Lord
- Steve Middlebrooks
- Henry O'Pry

#### Ex Officio:

- Charlotte Brown, Executive Director
- Carol Purvis, Superintendent and Secretary
- Marlene Bryan, CCSD Liaison and Acting Secretary
- Terrell Benton, Attorney

### 1991 AWARDS:

- Teachers of Excellence:
- Sandy Bouldin, Clarke Central HS
- Jean Chandler, Winterville ES
- Ginger Davis-Beck, Burney-Harris-Lyons MS
- George Harwood, Clarke Central HS
- Louise Neal, Cedar Shoals HS
- Howard B. Stroud Award: Barbara Mathis, Burney-Harris-Lyons MS
- *Martha Comer Chair for Teachers of Foreign and Classical Languages:* Carolyn Howell, Cedar Shoals HS
- *Scholarships for High School Seniors:* One at Cedar Shoals HS and one at Clarke Central HS
- *Classroom Grants:* Thirty grants were awarded for a total of \$6,000.

## **KEY 1991 ACCOMPLISHMENTS:**

• *Cooking for Excellence*. The Citizens for Public Education barbecue earned nearly \$6,000 for the Foundation. The Athens West Rotary Club gave the Foundation the profits of \$3,000 from its annual Chili Cook-Off.

- *Luncheon for Award Nominee*. Nominees for the Foundation awards were honored at a luncheon in the Taylor-Grady House.
- *Clarke County Mentor Program*. The Foundation assisted the Athens Area Chamber of Commerce in supporting the development of the Clarke County Mentor Program by serving as the 501(c)3 recipient of grant funding for the project.
- *Kilpatrick Chair Criteria*. Criteria were established for the Cardee Kilpatrick Chair of Middle School Teaching. The chair will be awarded for the first time in 1992, and the recipient will receive an annual stipend of \$750.