# 2000 ANNUAL SUMMARY

# 2000 TRUSTEES:

- Bill Douglas, President
- Sydney Jackson, Vice President and President-Elect
- Julie Knowlton, Secretary
- Mary Horton, Treasurer
- Guillermo Alzuru
- Tyrone Barnett
- Nancy Bowen (Resigned 5/2000)
- Charlotte Brown (Resigned 2/2000)
- Dianne Campbell
- Anne Cooper
- Al Davison
- Jean Lovell
- Susan Mull
- Scott Orr (Began 9/2000)
- Vernon Payne
- Marge Schneider (Began 9/2000)
- Lee Waddell (Resigned 5/2000)
- Mike Waldrip (Began 4/2000)

### Ex Officio:

- Lane Norton, Executive Director
- Kathy Hug, Historian
- Mike Wooten, CCSD Liaison

# **2000 AWARDS:**

### Teacher of Excellence Awards:

- Valerie Aldridge, Barrow ES
- Teresa Granger, 4th Street ES
- Karen Hankins, Whit Davis ES
- Monica Knight, Coile MS
- Ellen Sabatini, Alps Rd. ES

### Specialized Awards:

- Frusanna S. Booth Chair for Teachers of English and Language Arts: Carol Hall, Hilsman MS
- Charlotte Brown Chair for Teachers of Special Education: Nicole Yount-McLaughlin, Barnett Shoals ES

- Martha Comer Chair for Teachers of Foreign & Classical Languages: Meredith Blackburn, Clarke Central HS
- Lamar Dodd Chair for Teachers of Fine Arts: David Harvell, 4th Street ES
- Howard B. Stroud Award: Wanda Keenum, Systemwide
- Scholarships for Teaching Aides: Stefan Smith, Clarke MS; Monique Darrisaw, 4th Street ES
- Peggy Thaxton Scholarship for Continuing Education: Charlotte House, Timothy Rd. ES
- Mae M. Whatley Teacher of the Year: Wanda Culpepper, Whit Davis ES

### Student Awards:

• Gregg W. Lewis Awards for Scholar Athletes: Alex Stanick, Cedar Shoals HS; Jessica Cudnik, Clarke Central HS

#### Classroom Grants:

• Six \$200 grants, 8 \$500 grants, and three \$1,000 mini-grants were awarded for a total of \$8,200.

### **KEY 2000 ACCOMPLISHMENTS:**

- "Invest in Excellence" Campaign Initiated. The major focus in 2000 was the "Invest in Excellence" Campaign which was officially launched at a November breakfast. Brochures were created for both membership and individual/corporate giving. Trustees will carry out the campaign in 2001 and beyond.
- Additional Scholarships Established. High school scholarships for two scholar athletes were established in memory of Gregg Lewis with a \$25,000 endowment from the Lewis family. Criteria were developed for the Peggy Thaxton Scholarship funded by Fowler Elementary School; any employee in the district may apply to enhance his or her education. Winterville Elementary School set up a scholarship to begin in 2001 to fund special education training in memory of Carol Ann Colquitt, a special education teacher.
- Apples Donated for Fundraising. Kathy Hug donated her collection of apples for use by the Foundation for fundraising. A Foundation trustee will deliver an apple from the collection to a teacher, department, team, or faculty honored by a contribution to the Foundation.
- *By-Laws Revised*. Changes in the by- laws reflect a wider pool of potential trustees through expanded qualifications and a defined role for the Foundation's treasurer.