2010 ANNUAL SUMMARY

2010 TRUSTEES:

- Maxine Easom, President
- Susan Dodson, President-Elect
- Sherry Malone, Treasurer
- Theresa Cullen, Secretary
- Denise Mewborn, BOE Representative
- Guillermo Alzuru
- Katherine Byrne
- Anne Cooper
- Susan Huff
- Kevin O'Neill
- Jenny Penney Oliver
- Pearl Powell
- Mona Robinson
- Reign Streiter
- Kimberly Winston

Ex Officio:

- John Whitehead, Executive Director
- Philip D. Lanoue, Superintendent
- Lane Norton, Emeritus Executive Director
- Cheryl Phillips, Historian
- Anisa Sullivan Jimenez, CCSD Liaison
- C.J. Amason, Past President

2010 AWARDS:

Excellence in Teaching Awards:

- Dr. Walter Allen, Sr. Excellence in Teaching Award: Marlana Street, Clarke Central HS
- Friends of Eve Carson Excellence in Teaching Award: Lee Ann Callebs, Whitehead Rd. ES
- Joan D. Humphries Excellence in Teaching Award: Leslie Dutcher, Whit Davis ES
- Newland Family Foundation Excellence in Teaching Award: Lindsay Williamson, Timothy Rd. ES
- FFE Excellence in Teaching Award: Kena Worthy, Timothy Rd. ES

Specialized Awards:

- Frusanna S. Booth Award for Teachers of English and Language Arts: Jamie Jordan, Burney-Harris-Lyons MS
- Charlotte Brown Award for Teachers of Special Education: Barbara Gaertig, Barnett Shoals ES
- Lamar Dodd Award for Teachers of Fine Arts: Krista Dean, Chase St. ES
- Margaret and Raymond Pondsoldt Award for Elementary School Teaching: Steven King, Whit Davis ES
- Kathryn H. Hug Instructional Leadership Award: Tad MacMillan, Clarke MS
- Howard B. Stroud Award for Community Service: Vance Sims, Gaines ES
- Freida M. Thomas Teacher of Promise Award: Ian Altman, Clarke Central HS
- Mae M. Whatley Teacher of the Year: Beth Tatum, Cedar Shoals HS

Student Awards:

- Gregg W. Lewis Memorial Scholarship: Clara Nibbelink, Cedar Shoals HS; Ivan Santillan, Clarke Central HS
- Marge Schneider Memorial Science Award: Roma Amin, Cedar Shoals HS; Ivan Santillan, Clarke Central HS

Classroom Grants:

- Lane Turner Norton Literary Grant: Gwen Bailey, Cleveland Rd. ES
- Todd Cooper Memorial Technology Grant: \$600 Lori Jackson, Lesley Dean, Aliceson Nobles, Freda Williams, Barnett Shoals ES
- Dr. Jimmy Morris Memorial Fine Arts Grant: \$500 Rachel Osborne, Whit Davis ES; \$500 Krista Dean, Chase St. ES
- Charlotte & Claude Williams American History Grant: \$500 Stacie Tarbet Carson and Beverly Barksdale, Alps Rd. ES
- Eve Carson Service Learning Grant: Tad MacMillan, Ellen Sabatini, Mimi Elliott-Gower, Barrow ES
- Arthur Moog Middleton Memorial Media Center Grant: \$250 each to Clarke Central HS and Cedar Shoals HS media centers
- Marge Schneider Science Grant: Steven King, Whit Davis ES
- General Classroom Grants: Non-endowed classroom grants were supported in 2010 by generous gifts from Joe and Ann Frierson, Hue Henry, Cardee and Jeremy Kilpatrick, the BKOS Birthday Club, and gifts in memory of Marge Schneider and Eve Carson. Grants totaling \$10,000 were made to Barnett Shoals ES, Barrow ES, Burney-Harris-Lyons MS, Cleveland Rd. ES, Coile MS, J.J. Harris ES, Oglethorpe Ave. ES and Timothy Rd. ES.

KEY 2010 ACCOMPLISHMENTS:

- Dr. Walter Allen, Sr. Excellence in Teaching Award was presented for the first time.
- The award endowed for Eve Carson in 2009 was named the Friends of Eve Carson Award and presented for the first time.

- Two Excellence in Teaching awards, previously endowed by a fund drive in 2005, were named the Joan D. Humphries Award and the Newland Family Foundation award. They were presented for the first time.
- The Foundation agreed to sponsor the Athens-Savannah Bike ride in 2011 to endow the fifth Excellence in Teaching Award. For 2010 that award was named the FFE Excellence in Teaching Award and was funded by Athens First Bank.
- Individual plaques, rather than one large collective plaque, for the Excellence in Teaching Awards were created for the first time.
- The Janis J. Stephens Paraprofessional of the Year Award was endowed by Bertis and Katherine Downs to honor former school district employee Janis J. Stephens. It was presented for the first time.
- A new endowed classroom grant, The Eve Carson Service Learning Grant, was awarded for the first time.
- The Carol Ann Colquitt Special Education Classroom Grant was created and endowed by transferring funds from the former Carol Ann Colquitt Special Education Scholarship. The scholarship was no longer viable because of a change in district and state policies for hiring and employing special education teachers.

Classroom grants were announced and awarded at the beginning of the school year in August, rather than in December. This change allows teachers to use the grants for the entire school year.