# 2002 ANNUAL SUMMARY

## 2002 TRUSTEES:

- Julie Knowlton, President (resigned 9/24/02)
- Susan Mull, President-Elect
- Vivian Fisher, Secretary
- Marge Schneider, Treasurer
- Guillermo Alzuru
- Jane Benson
- Svea Bogue
- Joe Ann Daniel
- Delois Gainey
- Jean Lovell
- David Nunnally
- Anita Stampley
- Mike Waldrip
- John Whitehead
- Dianne Penny Wilson

#### Ex Officio:

- Lane Norton, Executive Director
- Lewis Holloway, Superintendent
- Joan Humphries, Historian
- Sydney Jackson, Past President
- Mike Wooten, CCSD Liaison

# **2002 AWARDS:**

### Teacher of Excellence Awards:

- Jennifer Cole, Cleveland Road ES
- Melissa Dupre, Clarke Central HS
- Brandis Hartsell, Whitehead Rd. ES
- Anne Page, Coile MS
- Mary Jo Prescott, Coile MS

## Specialized Awards:

- Frusanna S. Booth Chair for Teachers of English and Language Arts: Jan Mullins, Hilsman MS
- Charlotte Brown Chair for Teachers of Special Education: Anne Page, Coile MS
- Martha Comer Chair for Teachers of Foreign & Classical Languages: Ellen Harris, Clarke Central HS

- Lamar Dodd Chair for Teachers of Fine Arts: Sharon McKillip, Whit Davis ES
- Margaret and Raymond Pondsoldt Chair for Elementary School Teaching: Christine Register, Barnett Shoals ES
- Howard B. Stroud Award: Ernest Hardaway, Deputy Superintendent
- Paraprofessional Scholarship: Sharon Rehberg, Winterville ES
- Carol Ann Colquitt Memorial Scholarship for Special Education: Barbara Gaertig, Barnett Shoals ES
- Mae M. Whatley Teacher of the Year: Christine Register, Barnett Shoals ES

#### Student Awards:

• Lewis Awards for Scholar Athletes: Hailey Sailors, Clarke Central; Joseph Yeatts, Clarke Central

#### Classroom Grants:

- Six \$1,000 grants, nine \$500 grants, and seven \$200 grants were awarded for a total of \$11,900.
- Dr. Jimmy Morris Memorial Fine Arts Grants: Deenan Scott, Timothy Rd. ES; Mary Anne Edens, Fowler Dr. ES

## **KEY 2002 ACCOMPLISHMENTS:**

- Morris Memorial Fine Arts Grant Awarded. Grants created to honor the memory of Dr. Jimmy Morris, director of Fine Arts Instruction in the school district for 17 years, were awarded for the first time this year.
- Charlotte and Claude Williams American History Grant Established. Created by the Williams children to honor their parents' commitment to public education and their belief in the importance of teaching our nation's history, this annual grant of \$500 will be presented to a district teacher wishing to fund a classroom project in American History.
- Newland Family Foundation Funds Classroom Grants. The Newland Family generously donated \$10,000 to fund most of the Classroom Grants awarded this year.
- New Foundation Logo Designed by UGA Class. The Public Relations Class of Dr. Carolina Acosta-Alzuru created a new logo to be used on official Foundation publications, including the new "Foundation for Excellence" brochure and Trustees Manual.
- *Membership/School Coordinators Committee Created.* A new committee designed strategies to increase the Foundation's visibility in schools. Trustees were assigned as contact persons for one or more schools, placing newly-designed bulletin boards in schools, keeping them current, and attending at least one PTO/School Event during the year to encourage membership in the Foundation and opportunities to honor school staff members.

- *All funds transferred to Merrill Lynch*. As of April 2002, all funds were transferred from IJL-Wachovia to Merrill Lynch Investment Group in order to reduce management fees and increase return on investments.
- Nomination Forms Translated into Spanish. In recognition of the increasing Latino enrollment in the school district, Guillermo Alzuru translated all nomination forms for awards into Spanish.