2015 ANNUAL SUMMARY

2015 Trustees:

- David Meyers, President
- Catherine Demesa Neace, President-Elect
- Lisa Oelke, Secretary
- David Huff, BOE Representative
- Dolly Barstow
- Ginger Davis-Beck
- China Goodie
- Jody Graichen
- Meg Easom Hines
- Kjirsten Ogburn
- Michele Pearson
- Jackie Saindon
- Heather Sussman
- Chris Taylor
- Jodi Weber

Ex-Officio

- Cynthea J. "CJ" Amason, Executive Director
- Philip Lanoue, Superintendent, Clarke County Schools
- Anisa Sullivan Jimenez/Callen Moore, CCSD Liaisons
- Julie Bower, Past President
- Paul Matthews, Webmaster

2015 Awards

Faculty/Staff Awards

- Walter Allen, Sr. Inspiring Teacher Award: Kelly Hocking, Barrow ES
- Freida M. Thomas Teacher of Promise Award: Kathryn Kipling, Chase Street ES and Alyssa Benner, JJ Harris ES
- Seasoned Teacher Award: Angela Wyatt, Barrow ES
- Howard B. Stroud Award for Community Service: Matt Hicks, Cedar Shoals HS
- Ken Sherman Double Century Excellence Award in Teaching Award: Grace Staniszewski, Fowler Drive ES
- Joan D. Humphries Excellence in Teaching Award: Marie Boyle, Barrow ES
- Kathryn H. Hug Instructional Leadership Award: Glenda Huff, CCSD Instructional Services
- Thomas Whitehead Chair for Teachers of Science: James Maudsley, Classic City HS
- Martha Comer Chair for Teachers of Languages: Melissa Perez-Rhym, Cedar Shoals HS
- Ann M. Schindel Chair for Teachers of Mathematics: Hilary Ruston, Coile MS

- Cardee Kilpatrick Chair for Middle School Teachers: Whitney Triplett, Clarke MS
- Mae M. Whatley Teacher of the Year Award: Lori Camden, Burney-Harris-Lyons MS
- Janis J. Stephens Paraprofessional of the Year Award: Frances Kim Willis, Fowler Drive ES

Student Awards:

- *Gregg W. Lewis Memorial Scholar Athlete Awards:* Barbara Kipreos, Clarke Central HS; & Tomislav Zabcic-Matic, Clarke Central HS
- *Marge Schneider Memorial Science Awards:* Brian Heredia, Cedar Shoals HS; & Josefine Striepen, Clarke Central HS
- *Charlotte and Claude Williams American History Awards:* Angelina Choi, Cedar Shoals HS; Tiernan O'Neill, Clarke Central HS
- Eve Carson Humanitarian Spirit Awards:
- Alps Rd. ES—Chadayzja Sims
- Barnett Shoals ES—Jacqueline Wright
- Barrow ES—Ludwig Lechtreck
- Chase St. ES—Caleb Miller
- Cleveland Rd. ES—Joanny Hernandez
- Fowler Dr. ES—Salem Curtis
- Gaines ES—Asia Barnett
- JJ Harris ES—Selene Alva-Arroyo
- Oglethorpe Ave. ES—Rashel Pineda-Huato
- Stroud ES—Alecia Wright
- Timothy Rd. ES—Harrison Carmack
- Whit Davis ES-Kayla Schlueter
- Whitehead Rd. ES—Jessica Lee
- Winterville ES-Rosa Carrillos-Posadas
- Burney-Harris-Lyons MS—Marilen Rodriguez
- Clarke MS—Jordan Butler
- Coile MS—Erick Arenales
- Hilsman MS—Kathlyn Monterroso
- Cedar Shoals HS—Khiaiya Jaggie
- Clarke Central HS—Nicholas Byrne
- Classic City HS—Gabriel Estrada

2015 Classroom Grants

- *C.B. Lord Founder's General Classroom Grant:* Steven King (Whit Davis ES)–\$1000
- Friends of Eve Carson General Classroom Grant: Tammie Bryant (Coile MS)-\$1000
- Eve Carson Service Learning Grant: Audrey Hughes (Hilsman MS)-\$1000
- Sara Orton Glickman Collaborative Project Based Learning Grant: Jessica Watson (Hilsman MS)–\$1000
- *Jimmy Morris Memorial Fine Arts Grant:* Zandra Bell-McRoy (Cedar Shoals HS)–\$500 and Melanie Powers (Whitehead Road ES)–\$500
- Lane Turner Norton Literacy Grant: Cassie Crenshaw (Hilsman MS)-\$500
- Carol Ann Colquitt Special Education Grant: Erika Douglas (Gaines ES)-\$500
- Todd Cooper Memorial Grant for Technology: Kerry Hogan (Cedar Shoals HS)-\$500
- Jenny Penney Oliver General Classroom Grant: Michelle Vecchio-Weinmeister (Clarke MS)–\$500

• *Arthur Moog Middleton Memorial Media Center Grant:* \$250 each to Clarke Central HS *and* Cedar Shoals HS media centers

Total of endowed grants was \$7500.

General Classroom Grants: Non-endowed classroom grants were supported in 2015 by generous gifts from members in the Athens-Clarke County community and beyond. These grants, totaling \$8500, were made to:

\$1000 Grants:

- Monica Alvarez (Clarke MS)
- Kelli Bivins (Coile MS)
- Rita Buschbacher (Hilsman MS)
- Steven King (Whit Davis ES)
- Lauren Knowlton (Whit Davis ES)
- Karen Moreland (Burney-Harris-Lyones MS)
- Matthew Smith (Burney-Harris-Lyons MS)
- Tim Stoudenmire (Clarke Central HS)

\$500 Grant:

• Joyce Moeller (Whit Davis ES)

KEY 2015 ACCOMPLISHMENTS:

Former Award Winners' Party at the Downs' – On Friday, **February 27th**, former trustee **Katherine Downs** and her husband **Bertis** hosted a party to recognize all former FFE award winners. This special group of invitees spread across the 31 year span of the Foundation, and it was so much fun to connect with new friends and reconnect with those we already knew.

Ath/Sav Bike Ride – This year's AthSav Bike Ride, the brainchild of Dr. Ken Sherman, marked the 14th journey from Athens to Savannah. FFE board member Meg Easom Hines served as our internal "point person" for this multi faceted event. The 2015 trek took place May 1st-2nd and involved 110 riders and 2 dozen active volunteers/support people-the largest group to date. AthSav also had best-ever turnouts at three other event related day rides: the AthSav Kickoff, the Firefly Ticket to Ride, and Pedal for Paws. Monies raised this year for the Foundation for Excellence in Public Education in Clarke County totaled \$5025; to date Dr. Sherman's efforts have now contributed more than \$30,000 to the Foundation in five years, and more than \$180,000 to public education in the Clarke County School District since the event's inception in 1999.

Nominees' Tea – Our Nominees' Tea was held at Trumps on April 13th with 91 individuals vying for our awards this year. Special thanks to Bill Douglas and Athens First Bank and Trust for their ongoing sponsorship of this event.

Awards Banquet – Our Awards Banquet, held on October 12th, once again proved to be the highlight of our year as we enjoyed an evening of recognizing and rewarding some of the CCSD's finest at the Classic Center. Many thanks especially to trustees, headed by **Ginger Davis Beck**, who served on the banquet committee. Our financial sponsors for this wonderful evening were the *National Bank of Georgia, the Classic Center, Heyward Allen Toyota Scion,* and *First American Bank*.

Carson Student Awards – Thanks to a generous \$10,000 gift from The Thomas M. & Irene B. *Kirbo Charitable* Foundation, the amount awarded to the high school recipients of the Eve Carson Humanitarian Spirit Awards will be increased permanently to \$500 from the previous \$250.

Lewis Awards – Thanks to the continued generosity of the Lewis family, beginning in 2015, the two runners-up for the Gregg W. Lewis Scholar Athlete Award will also be awarded \$250 each.

Williams Awards – This year **the Charlotte and Claude Williams American History Award** was presented for the first time to a junior at both Clarke Central and Cedar Shoals. These individuals received \$250 each. This was previously a classroom grant and was converted in 2015 to an award with the family's consent.