2009 ANNUAL SUMMARY

2009 TRUSTEES:

- C.J. Amason, President
- Maxine Easom, President-Elect
- Michael Ripps, Treasurer
- Anne Cooper, Secretary
- Denise Mewborn, BOE Representative
- Vivian Alford
- Theresa Cullen
- Susan Dodson
- Katherine Downs
- Marianne Hale
- Sherry Malone
- Jenny Penney Oliver
- Pearl Powell
- Reign Streiter

Ex Officio:

- John Whitehead, Executive Director
- Philip D. Lanoue, Superintendent
- Lane Norton, Emeritus
- Cheryl Phillips, Historian
- Anisa Sullivan Jimenez, CCSD Liaison
- Barb Wright, Past President

2009 AWARDS:

Excellence in Teaching Awards:

- Ansley Clarkson, Cleveland Rd. ES
- Kelly Felt, Cleveland Rd. ES
- Barbara Gaertig, Barnett Shoals ES
- Elizabeth Royer-Woodward, Alps Rd. ES
- Beth Selleck, Barrow ES

Specialized Awards:

- Martha Comer Award for Teachers of Languages: Emily Dowd, Clarke Central HS
- Cardee Kilpatrick Award for Middle School Teaching: Virginia Anne Gillis, Clarke MS

- Ann M. Schindel Award for Teachers of Mathematics: Summer Tuggle, Clarke MS
- Kathryn H. Hug Instructional Leadership Award: Greg Hull, Pre-Kindergarten Coordinator
- Howard B. Stroud Award for Community Service: Julie Evans, district-wide adaptive physical education teacher, Student Services
- Freida M. Thomas Teacher of Promise Award: Ashley Goodrich, Clarke Central HS
- Mae M. Whatley Teacher of the Year: Beth Selleck, Barrow ES

Student Awards:

- Gregg W. Lewis Memorial Scholarship: Augustus Boyd, Clarke Central HS; Sara De La Torre-Beron, Clarke Central HS
- Marge Schneider Memorial Science Award: Clara Starkweather, Cedar Shoals HS; Lauren Wooten, Clarke Central HS

Classroom Grants:

- Todd Cooper Memorial Technology Grant: Christopher Sugiuchi, Chase Street ES; Jennifer Thiel, Gaines ES
- Arthur Moog Middleton Memorial Media Center Grants: Clarke Central HS and Cedar Shoals HS media centers
- Dr. Jimmy Morris Memorial Fine Arts Grant: Lindy Crace, Clarke Central HS; Lori Ragsdale and Mary Kelly, Chase St. ES and Alps Rd. ES
- Lane Turner Norton Literary Grant: James C. Willingham, Oglethorpe Ave. ES
- Marge Schneider Science Grant: Steven King, Whit Davis ES
- General Classroom Grants: Funded by BKOS, Eve Carson Fund, Barbara Bloom-Fisher, Jack and Sarah Frierson, Cardee and Jeremy Kilpatrick and Don Schneider. Grants totaling \$8,400 were made to Barrow ES, Chase St. ES, Gaines ES, Oglethorpe Ave. ES, and Whit Davis ES.

KEY 2009 ACCOMPLISHMENTS

- *The Eve Carson Award* was established in 2009 to honor the life of Eve Marie Carson, a 2004 honor graduate of Clarke Central High School, and to promote a humanitarian spirit in the youth of the Clarke County School District. Each elementary, middle and high school in the Clarke County School District selects one student in the exiting class (grades 5, 8, and 12) who best exemplifies the qualities exhibited by Eve to honor each spring. Awards are given as follows: 5th grade \$50 gift card; 8th grade \$100 gift card; 12th grade \$250 check.
- The Eve Carson Memorial Service Learning Grant was established in 2009 to honor the life of Eve Marie Carson, 2004 honor graduate of Clarke Central High School, whose spirit of service was evidenced throughout her life. The Carson Grant provides \$1000 annually to a certified employee in the Clarke County School District to fund a school/classroom/organization project that connects

- school-based curriculum with the intrinsic caring and concern young people have for their world.
- Dr. Walter Allen, Sr. Excellence in Teaching Award was endowed in 2009 by his friends.
- An anonymous donor endowed a fourth *Excellence in Teaching Award to be named for Eve Carson*.