## **1996 ANNUAL SUMMARY**

## **1996 TRUSTEES:**

- Anne Cooper, President
- Margie Shedd, Vice President
- Tanna Nicholson, Secretary
- Ann Jones, Treasurer
- Barbara Archibald
- Charles Belflower
- Trudy Bradley
- Marlene Bryan
- Tom Chasteen
- Ann Dunn
- Joanna Eaton
- John Jeffreys
- Steve Jones
- David Nowell
- Mark Rich
- Helene Schwartz

Ex Officio:

- Charlotte Brown, Executive Director
- Lucian Harris, Superintendent
- Jimmy Morris, CCSD Liaison
- Terrell Benton, Attorney

## **1996 AWARDS:**

- Teachers of Excellence:
- Anne Brightwell, Clarke Central HS
- Kevin Manglitz, Clarke MS
- Bette McEvoy, Timothy Rd. ES
- Jerry Pope, Timothy Rd. ES
- Lisa Stanzi, Barrow ES
- Martha Comer Chair for Teachers of Foreign and Classical Languages: Anita Picas, Cedar Shoals HS
- Lamar Dodd Chair for Teachers of Art: Jane Pinneau, Winterville ES
- Howard B. Stroud Award: Martin Queen, Systemwide
- Scholarships for Teaching Assistants: Tracey Lumpkin and Claire McMillan, Whit Davis ES
- *Mini-Grants:* Mini-grants were underwritten by the Coca-Cola funds.

## **KEY 1996 ACCOMPLISHMENTS:**

- *Strategic Plan Developed.* During 1996, Foundation Trustees participated in a strategic planning process facilitated by Dr. Gerry Horton. A mission statement was drafted, long- and short-term goals were set, and implementation guidelines were written. The entire plan underscores the Foundation's focus on encouraging, recognizing, and rewarding excellence in education.
- *Chairs Continue to Grow.* In addition to the Whitehead Chair of Science announced at the end of 1995, the Schindel Chair of Mathematics has been established by Mr. and Mrs. Robert Schindel in honor of their daughter, Ann. The Schindels have committed \$25,000 for the chair.