2001 ANNUAL SUMMARY

2001 TRUSTEES:

- Sydney Jackson, President
- Julie Knowlton, President Elect
- Susan Mull, Secretary
- Mary Horton, Treasurer
- Guillermo Alzuru
- Tyrone Barnett
- Jane Benson
- Al Davison
- Vivian Fisher
- Jean Lovell
- Vernon Payne
- Marge Schneider
- Mike Waldrip
- Sidney Ann Waters
- Joan Humphries

Ex Officio:

- Lane Norton, Executive Director
- Lewis Holloway, Superintendent
- Mike Wooten, CCSD Liaison

2001 AWARDS:

Teacher of Excellence Awards:

- Wanda Culpepper, Whit Davis ES
- Faith Huff, Clarke Central HS
- Mary Lynn Lane, Fowler Dr. ES
- Jennfer Leahy, Clarke Central HS
- Mary Quinn, Hilsman MS

Specialized Awards:

- Cardee Kilpatrick Chair for Teachers of Middle School: Kathy Thompson, Clarke MS
- Ann M. Schindel Chair for Teachers of Mathematics: Jennifer Greer, Clarke Central HS
- Thomas H. Whitehead Chair for Teachers of Science: Joyce Moseley, Hilsman MS
- Howard B. Stroud Award: Shirley Sims, Burney-Harris-Lyons MS

- Scholarships for Teaching Aides: Sharon Rehburg, Winterville ES
- *Peggy Thaxton Scholarship for Continuing Education:* Beatrice Moore, Clarke Central HS
- Mae M. Whatley Teacher of the Year: Mary Bradbury-Bailey, Cedar Shoals HS

Student Awards:

• *Gregg W. Lewis Awards for Scholar Athletes*: Julia Ferguson, Clarke Central HS; Jordan Thrasher, Cedar Shoals HS

Classroom Grants:

• Three \$1,000 grants; 10 \$500 grants; and 7 \$200 grants were awarded to teachers across the district.

KEY 2001 ACCOMPLISHMENTS:

- The Jimmy Morris Memorial Fine Arts Grant was funded by a \$5,000 donation from REM/Athens, an art Auction at the Lyndon House Gallery and the sale of children's art cards by the art faculty of the district, and will be awarded in November of 2002.
- The Margaret & Raymond Ponsoldt Chair of Elementary School Teaching was established by BOE member James Ponsoldt in honor of his parents. The first Elementary School Teaching Chair will be awarded in August of 2002.
- The daughters of Frusanna Booth contributed another \$7,500 to the Language Arts Chair, raising the endowment to the \$18,000 level.
- The Classroom Grants were fully funded by the Newland Family Foundation (\$9,400).
- A new plaque is now hanging in the CCSD BOE meeting room to honor all recipients of the Howard B. Stroud Award.
- A committee reviewed and revised all Teacher of Excellence, Chair and Stroud nomination forms. In addition, revisions were made to the Classroom Grant application forms.
- All holdings of the FFE are now housed solely in IJL-Wachovia.
- A letter writing campaign was launched to solicit and renew memberships.
- A public relations class at UGA, under Professor Carolina Acosta-Alzuru, undertook to present the FFE with a public relations campaign. The plan was enthusiastically received and ideas will be implemented in 2002.