2011 ANNUAL SUMMARY

2011 TRUSTEES:

- Sherry Malone, President
- Susan Dodson, President-Elect
- Mona Robinson, Treasurer
- Theresa Cullen, Secretary
- Carol Williams, BOE Representative
- Katherine Byrne
- Amy Heesacker
- Susan Huff
- Terry Nestor
- Kevin O'Neill
- Eric Orbock
- Pearl Powell
- Ken Sherman
- Kim Winston

Ex Officio:

- John Whitehead, Executive Director
- Philip D. Lanoue, Superintendent
- Lane Norton, Emeritus Executive Director
- Cheryl Phillips, Historian
- Anisa Sullivan Jimenez, CCSD Liaison
- Maxine Eason, Past President

2011 AWARDS:

Excellence in Teaching Awards:

- Dr. Walter Allen, Sr. Excellence in Teaching Award: David Ragsdale, Clarke Central HS
- *Friends of Eve Carson Excellence in Teaching Award:* Erin Cawthon, Clarke Central HS
- Joan D. Humphries Excellence in Teaching Award: Matthew Hicks, Cedar Shoals HS
- Newland Family Foundation Excellence in Teaching Award: Stephen Hinson, Clarke Central HS
- *Ken Sherman Double Century Excellence in Teaching Award:* Vernellia Wade, Alps Rd. ES

Specialized Awards:

- Cardee Kilpatrick Award for Teachers of Middle School: Eric Blake, Hilsman MS
- Kathryn H. Hug Instructional Leadership Award: Andy Plemmons, Barrow ES
- *Howard B. Stroud Award for Community Service:* Lauren Cunningham, Stroud ES
- Freida M. Thomas Teacher of Promise Award: Jessica Ellett, Chase St. ES
- Mae M. Whatley Teacher of the Year Award: Janet Wilkins, Clarke MS
- Janis J. Stephens Paraprofessional of the Year Award: Sara Clarke, Barrow ES

Student Awards:

- *Gregg W. Lewis Memorial Scholarship:* Audrey Horne, Clarke Central HS; Jeff Hopper, Clarke Central HS
- *Marge Schneider Science Awards:* Audrey Horne, Clarke Central HS, Andrew Kim, Cedar Shoals HS
- *Eve Carson Humanitarian Awards:* Carmina Escalante, Clarke Central HS; Shaquille Gatlin, Cedar Shoals HS, Ashleigh Laquins, Classic City HS; plus smaller awards to four middle schools and fourteen elementary schools

Classroom Grants:

- Lane Turner Norton Literary Grant: \$500 Deirdre Sugiuchi, Oglethorpe Ave. ES
- *Todd Cooper Memorial Technology Grant:* \$600 Dawn Meyers, BOE
- *Dr. Jimmy Morris Memorial Fine Arts Grant:* \$500 Melanie Powers, Whitehead Rd. ES; \$500 Linda Moon, Cedar Shoals HS
- *Charlotte & Claude Williams American History Grant*: \$1000 Emily Larson, Chase St. ES
- Eve Carson Service Learning Grant: \$1000 Yvonne Manley, Whitehead Rd. ES
- *Arthur Moog Middleton Memorial Media Center Grant:* \$250 each to Clarke Central HS and Cedar Shoals HS media centers
- Carol Ann Colquitt Special Education Grant: \$500 Sandi Rafal, Whit Davis ES
- *General Classroom Grants:* Non-endowed classroom grants were supported in 2011 by generous gifts from Joe and Ann Frierson, Carole Henry, Cardee and Jeremy Kilpatrick, Erica and Jessica Orbock, the BKOS Birthday Club, Carvin and Nancy Brown in honor of Chad Paxson, and gifts in memory of Charlotte Brown and Eve Carson. Grants **totaling \$8,200 were made** to Barrow ES, Burney-Harris-Lyons MS, Cedar Shoals HS, Coile MS, and Oglethorpe Ave. ES.

KEY 2011 ACCOMPLISHMENTS:

- A new classroom grant, the **Friends of Eve Carson General Classroom grant** was established by an anonymous donor with a grant of \$500 a year. It will be awarded for the first time in 2012.
- The first Athens-Savannah Bike Ride took place in May 2011. Funds from the Bike Ride and other memorial gifts for Kellen Gibney were used to endow the **Dr**.

Ken Sherman Double Century Excellence in Teaching Award. The award was made for the first time in October 2011.

- The 2011 annual banquet was held on October 10 with generous support from Athens First Bank and Trust and Friends of Eve Carson.
- The 2011 Nominees Tea was held on April 28 with generous support from Athens First Bank.