2016 ANNUAL SUMMARY

2016 Trustees

- Catherine DeMesa Neace, President
- Meg Easom Hines, President-Elect
- China Goodie, Secretary
- Heather Sussman, Treasurer
- Sarah Ellis, BOE Representative
- Dolly Barstow
- Derrick Floyd
- Mary Dixon Garrison
- Glenn Leavell
- Michele Pearson
- Josh Podvin
- Kjirsten Ogburn
- Jackie Saindon
- Chris Taylor
- Jodi Weber

Ex Officio

- Cynthea J. "CJ" Amason, Executive Director
- Philip Lanoue, Superintendent
- Anisa Sullivan Jimenez, Callen Moore & Haley Brannan, CCSD Liaisons
- David Meyers, Past President
- Paul Matthews, Webmaster

2016 Awards

Faculty/Staff Awards

- Walter Allen, Sr. Inspiring Teacher Award: David McMickle, Clarke Central HS
- Freida M. Thomas Teacher of Promise Award: Brian Parido and Robert K. Simpson, Clarke MS
- Howard B. Stroud Community Service Award: Paula Lewis, Winterville ES
- Friends of Eve Carson Excellence in Teaching Award: Heather Julian, Clarke Central HS
- Newland Family Foundation Excellence in Teaching Award: Sophia DelVisco, Barnett Shoals ES
- Charlotte Brown Chair for Teachers of Special Education: Jennifer Frost, Clarke Central HS
- Frusanna S. Booth Chair for Teachers of English and Language Arts: Marc Ginsberg, Cedar Shoals HS
- Lamar Dodd Chair for Teachers of Fine Arts: Eunice Kang, Clarke Central HS
- Margaret & Raymond Ponsoldt Chair for Elementary School Teachers: Shelley Olin, Barrow ES

- Jenny Penney Oliver Chair for Counselors and Student Support Personnel: Heather Jarboe, Whit Davis ES
- Mae M. Whatley Teacher of the Year Award: Dana Siegmund, Classic City HS
- Janis J. Stephens Paraprofessional of the Year Award: Katherine Byrne, Barrow ES

Student Awards

- Gregg W. Lewis Scholar Athlete Award: Angelina Choi, Cedar Shoals HS & Yang Fang, Cedar Shoals HS
- Marge Schneider Science Award: Angelina Choi, Cedar Shoals HS & Seong Hyun "Bob" Han, Clarke Central HS
- Charlotte & Claude Williams American History Award: Charlie Ye, Cedar Shoals HS & Walker Chapman, Clarke Central HS
- Eve Carson Humanitarian Spirit Award:
- Alps Rd. ES—Amerriah Hitchcock
- Barnett Shoals ES—Jur'Nee Holley
- Barrow ES—Natalie Soper
- Chase St. ES—Ethan Caspary-Poucher
- Cleveland Rd. ES—Duane Cure
- Fowler Dr. ES—Evelyn Martinez
- Gaines ES—Jamiah Walker
- JJ Harris ES—Luz Bazarte-De La Luz
- Oglethorpe Ave. ES—Murphy McCall
- Stroud ES—Anyia Martin
- Timothy Rd. ES—Ivan Potapenko
- Whit Davis ES—Melanie Frick
- Whitehead Rd. ES—Zipporah Williams
- Winterville ES—Terrianne Bolden
- Burney-Harris-Lyons MS—Pacey Lewis
- Clarke MS—Chandler Pendley
- Coile MS—Gabriel Alvarez
- Hilsman MS—Aaliyah Nowell
- Cedar Shoals HS—Angelina Choi
- Clarke Central HS—Fajr Delane
- Classic City HS—Victoria Kilgore

2016 Classroom Grants

Endowed Grants-Total of endowed grants \$7000.

- Eve Carson Service Learning Grant: Veronica J. Davidson, Cleveland Road ES, \$1000-"No Place for Hate-Positive School Community Service Learning Project"
- Sara Orton Glickman Collaborative Project Based Learning Grant: Jonathan Ammon Hammett-Bregger, Clarke Central HS, \$1000-"International Baccalaureate Personal Project Promotion"
- B. Lord Founder's General Classroom Grant: Capricia Williams, Cleveland Road ES, \$1000-"Investigative Science"
- Friends of Eve Carson General Classroom Grant: Shelby Robinson, Clarke MS, \$1000-"Owls Magazine"

- *Jimmy Morris Fine Arts Grant:* Laura M. Vickers, Barnett Shoals ES, \$500-Drumming for Success"; Melanie Powers, Whitehead Road ES, \$500-"Just Like the Muppets, We're Singing with Puppets"
- Todd Cooper Technology Grant: Debbie Mitchell, Clarke MS, \$500-"Connecting Nature Through Landscaping"
- Carol Ann Colquitt Special Education Grant: Erika Douglas, Gaines ES, \$500-"Project R.E.A.L."
- *Jenny Penney Oliver General Classroom Grant:* Heather Julian, Clarke Central HS, \$500-"Breakout EDU, Collaboration, Communication, & Perseverance"
- Arthur Moog Middleton Media Center Grant: \$250 each to Cedar Shoals HS and Clarke Central HS media centers

General Classroom Grants—Non endowed classroom grants were supported in 2016 by generous gifts from members in the Athens-Clarke County community and beyond. These grants, totaling \$4900, were made to the following:

\$1000 Grants

- Carrie Yawn, Barrow ES-"Mindset Matters: Developing a Growth Mindset in Young Learners"
- Steven King, Whit Davis ES-"Geology Rocks!"
- Julie Throne, Cedar Shoals HS-"CSHS Fish House"
- Paul Sellew, W.R. Coile MS-"Board Game Literacy Project"

\$500 Grant

• Abbey Hoobler, Clevland Road ES-"Delivery Drone"

\$200 Grants

- Erika Douglas, Gaines ES-"Helpful Me"
- Renee Smith, Hilsman MS-"Hilsman Garden Wash/Weigh Station"

Key 2016 Accomplishments

Nominees' Event — Ron Schwartz and Trumps hosted all of our award nominees, their respective principals, and an assortment of CCSD representatives and FFE trustees and friends on April 11th. Our special guest this year was Mayor Nancy Denson who personally thanked our educators for their service to the county and district. Each nominee received coupons donated by Barberitos and Jittery Joe's, and Athens First Bank & Trust was again our primary sponsor. Below are the nominees by school:

Barnett Shoals ES–Kate Brinson, Sophie DelVisco, Leigh Ann Emrick, Kendra Lawson, Leonard Piha

Barrow ES—Heather Benton, Vanessa Choate, Regenia Dalton, Shelly Olin, Leslie Sokal, Sarah Vaughn

Burney/Harris/Lyons MS-Alex Holman, Heather Holman, Elizabeth McKenzie

Cedar Shoals HS-Marc Ginsberg, Ariel Gordon, Katie Baker Johnson

Chase St ES-Aly Brice, Amy Evans, Carrie Maxey, Catherine Thompson

Clarke Central HS—Christian Barner, Jennifer Frost, SFC Lorenda Harris, Heather Julian, Eunice Kang, LTC David McMickle, Heidi Nibbelink

Clarke MS—Tyler Graves, Brian Parido, Ashlee Perry, Robert Simpson, Michael Smith, Michelle Weinmeister, Chris Woodward

Classic City HS-Jodie Anderson, Phyllis Sanders, Dana Siegmund

Fowler Dr ES-Kimberly Bosquet, Christie Navarro

Gaines ES-Linda Cunningham, Carla Johnson

JJ Harris ES-Anna Bateman, Emily Dail, Alon Hammond, David Osborne

Hilsman MS-Laurie Camp

Oglethorpe Ave ES–Annie Bradberry, Laura Porter, Gena Webb

Stroud ES-Allison Brown, Quentori Dock, Joanna Patrignani, Kimberly Ruark

Timothy Rd ES–Marissa Aldridge, Dametrice Johnson

Whit Davis ES-Terry Jansen, Heather Jarboe, Asha Menon

Winterville ES—Katrina Gaulden, Lane Guyer, Kelly Parker, Demetria Fortson, Paula Lewis, Cedric Payne, Ben Adams, Charisse Brummell-Cronon

Annual Awards Banquet – Trustee Michele Pearson headed up our banquet committee for 2016; once again this signature event was held at the Classic Center on the Columbus Day professional learning day Monday, October 10th. This year the educators honored represented 12 of the 21 elementary, middle, and high schools in the Clarke County School District. BOE representative to the FFE Sarah Ellis encouraged and motivated the audience with her remarks. Special thanks to sponsors Barberitos of Downtown Athens and Heyward Allen Toyota Scion as well as the Classic Center itself. Special music was provided by the Clarke Central HS Honors Chamber Strings under the direction of Dr. Eunice Kang, one of this year's honorees.

New Endowments – Two new awards and one new classroom grant were funded in 2016 and will be presented in 2017. Former FFE trustee Katherine Downs and her daughters gave \$20,000 in honor of their husband and father, Bertis Downs; this will provide two \$500 awards each year for district services personnel. Peggy and Denny

Galis gave \$10,000 to be used for a \$500 award earmarked for history and social studies teachers. Retired CCSD educators Harold and Mary Horton made a gift of \$10,000 to endow a \$500 yearly grant for the exclusive use of elementary school teachers.