# 1993 ANNUAL SUMMARY

## **1993 TRUSTEES:**

- Henry O'Pry, President
- Julie Knowlton, Vice President
- Camilla Bracewell, Treasurer
- Svea Bogue
- Robin Chasman
- Tal DuVall
- James A. Klein
- James Locklin
- Dorothy Newland
- Scott Orr
- Howard Stroud
- Edward Tolley

#### Ex Officio:

- Charlotte Brown, Executive Director
- John Balentine, Superintendent
- Jimmy Morris, CCSD Liaison and Acting Secretary
- Cheryl Phillips, Secretary
- Terrell Benton, Attorney

### **1993 AWARDS:**

- Teachers of Excellence:
- Joan Gould, Barnett Shoals ES
- Annette Jackson, Cedar Shoals HS
- John Osborne, Cedar Shoals HS
- Joyce Reynolds, Whit Davis ES
- Freida Thomas, Alps Rd. ES
- Howard B. Stroud Award: Pat Price, Fourth Street ES
- Scholarships for High School Seniors: One scholarship was awarded at each high school.
- Classroom Grants: A total of \$6,744 in mini-grants was awarded to teachers.

## **KEY 1993 ACCOMPLISHMENTS:**

• New Teaching Chairs Approved. Under the leadership of Dr. Joan Humphries, Alps Rd. ES Principal, a teaching chair in English language arts was approved to honor Dr. Frusanna Booth. Under the leadership of Dr. Jimmy Morris, a teaching

- chair in fine arts was approved to honor Lamar Dodd. These chairs will be awarded when sufficient funds have been raised.
- *Investment Plan Established*. The Foundation Trustees set up an investment plan with Interstate Johnson Lane for the purpose of increasing yields on the Foundation endowment.
- *Donations Received*. The Citizens for Public Education raised \$3,600 for the Foundation. The Rotary Club donated \$1,000 to the Foundation.