2012 ANNUAL SUMMARY

2012 TRUSTEES:

- Susan Dodson, President
- Mona Robinson, President-Elect
- Susan Huff, Treasurer
- Terry Nestor, Secretary
- Ovita Thornton, BOE Representative
- Julie Bower
- Katherine Byrne
- Cheryl Field-Smith
- Amy Heesacker
- Kevin O'Neill
- Eric Orbock
- June Robertson
- Ken Sherman
- Rachel Watkins
- Kim Winston

Ex Officio:

- John Whitehead, Executive Director
- Philip D. Lanoue, Superintendent
- Lane Norton, Emeritus Executive Director
- Cheryl Phillips, Historian
- Anisa Sullivan Jimenez, CCSD Liaison
- Sherry Malone, Past President

2012 AWARDS:

Excellence in Teaching Awards:

- Dr. Walter Allen, Sr. Excellence in Teaching Award: Timothy Stoudenmire, Clarke Central HS
- Ken Sherman Double Century Excellence Award in Teaching Award: Jan Mullins, Barrow ES
- Friends of Eve Carson Excellence in Teaching Award: Katherine Brown, J.J. Harris ES
- Joan D. Humphries Excellence in Teaching Award: Dorothy Wylie Jones, Hilsman MS
- Newland Family Foundation Excellence in Teaching Award: Kimberly Lang, Gaines ES

Specialized Awards:

- Frusanna S. Booth Award for Teachers of English and Language Arts: Stephen-Robert Castile, Cedar Shoals HS
- Charlotte Brown Award for Teachers of Special Education: Pamela Garcia, Barnett Shoals ES/BOE
- Lamar Dodd Award for Teachers of Fine Arts: Rita Foretich, Barrow ES
- Margaret and Raymond Ponsoldt Award for Elementary School Teaching: Kelly Hocking, Barrow ES
- Kathryn H. Hug Instructional Leadership Award: Meredith Blackburn, Clarke Central HS
- Howard B. Stroud Award for Community Service: Lenore Katz, Clarke Central HS
- Freida M. Thomas Teacher of Promise Award: Michelle Hart, Barrow ES
- Mae M. Whatley Teacher of the Year Award: Steven Piazza, Classic City HS
- Janis J. Stephens Parapro of the Year Award: Barbara Ali, Cedar Shoals HS

Student Awards:

- Gregg W. Lewis Memorial Scholarship: Philip Trandel, Clarke Central HS; Elizabeth Vencill, Cedar Shoals HS
- Marge Schneider Science Awards: Wendy Avila, Cedar Shoals HS; Halima Martyr, Clarke Central HS
- Eve Carson Humanitarian Awards: Emma Kissane, Clarke Central HS; Christy McDaniel, Cedar Shoals HS; Tangela Johnson, Classic City HS; plus smaller awards to 4 middle schools and 14 elementary schools

Classroom Grants:

- Lane Turner Norton Literary Grant: \$500 Kacy Tedder, Clarke Central HS
- Carol Ann Colquitt Special Education Grant: \$500 Sharon Pendley, BOE
- Dr. Jimmy Morris Memorial Fine Arts Grant: \$500 & \$500 Melanie Powers, Whitehead Rd. ES
- Todd Cooper Memorial Technology Grant: \$600 Kisha Bailey, Timothy Rd. ES
- Eve Carson Service Learning Grant: \$1,000 Julie Throne, Cedar Shoals HS
- Friends of Eve Carson Classroom Grant: \$500 Erika Douglas, Gaines ES
- Charlotte & Claude Williams American History Grant: \$500 Rebecca Hall-Barrett, Chase St. ES
- Arthur Moog Middleton Memorial Media Center Grant: \$250 each to Clarke Central HS and Cedar Shoals HS media centers
- General Classroom Grants: Non-endowed classroom grants were supported in 2012 by generous gifts from Katherine and Bertis Downs, Jennifer McDowell and Brett Klementz, Bill Berry, the BKOS Birthday Club, gifts in memory of Bertha Dresden, Eve Carson, Carolyn Hally, and others. Grants totaling \$9,000 were made to Burney-Harris-Lyons ES, Cedar Shoals HS, Cleveland Road ES, Coile MS, Fowler Drive ES, Timothy Road ES, Whit Davis ES, and Whitehead Road ES.

KEY 2012 ACCOMPLISHMENTS:

- The endowment for the for the Friends of Eve Carson General Classroom Grant was increased with a gift from the Carson Family. The grant will pay \$1000 for the first time in 2013.
- The Sara Orton Glickman Collaborative Teachers Project Based Learning Grant was endowed by the Glickman Family Trust in honor of Sara Glickman's service to education in Clarke County School District. It will be a \$1000 grant available for the first time in 2013.
- The 2012 Annual Awards Banquet was held at the Classic Center on October 8 and was supported by generous gifts from Bill Berry, Jittery Joe's Coffee Roasters, Athens First Bank.
- The Nominees Event Tea was held on April 16 and generously supported by Athens First Bank.
- The FFE awarded nineteen grants for a variety of projects.