# **1995 ANNUAL SUMMARY**

## **1995 TRUSTEES:**

- Marlene Bryan, President
- Anne Cooper, Vice President
- Tanna Nicholson, Secretary
- Ann Jones, Treasurer
- Barbara Archibald
- Charles Belflower
- Tom Chasteen
- Naomi Glenn
- Joanna Eaton
- Steve Jones
- Dorothy Newland
- Scott Orr
- Mark Rich
- Helene Schwartz
- Margie Shedd
- Howard Stroud

#### Ex Officio:

- Charlotte Brown, Executive Director
- John Balentine, Superintendent
- Lucian Harris, Superintendent (as of 8/95)
- Jimmy Morris, CCSD Liaison
- Gerald T. Horton, Coca Cola Grant
- Terrell Benton, Attorney

### **1995 AWARDS:**

- Teachers of Excellence:
- Peggy Cole, Barrow ES
- Tim Jarboe, Fourth St. ES
- Barbara Jarrard, Cedar Shoals HS
- Teresa Nestor, Whit Davis ES
- Donna Ware, Whitehead ES
- Cardee Kilpatrick Chair for Middle School Teaching: Peggy Pitts, Clarke MS
- Howard B. Stroud Award: Don McCormick, Systemwide
- *Scholarships for Teaching Assistants*: Karen Keller, Fourth St. ES; Frances Ward, Fowler Dr. ES
- *Mini-Grants:* Mini-grants were funded from among 51 applications.

## **KEY 1995 ACCOMPLISHMENTS:**

- *CPE Efforts Summarized*. The Citizens for Public Education contributed \$42,250 to the Foundation during the nine years that CPE held its fundraising barbecue. 1994 proceeds netted \$4,000 for the Foundation.
- *Mini-Grants To Be Supported by Coca-Cola*. Funds in the amount of \$8,000 annually over the next three years will underwrite the Foundation's mini-grants.
- *Consistency Sought in Processes*. Committees worked to bring consistency to the selection processes for teaching chairs and to the terms for Trustees.
- *Chairs Supported*. C. L. Moorehead gave \$12,000 for the Dodd Chair. Dot Whitehead contributed \$10,000 toward establishing a Thomas H. Whitehead Chair of Science.