# 2003 ANNUAL SUMMARY

### 2003 TRUSTEES:

- Susan Mull, President
- Vivian Fisher, President-Elect
- John Whitehead, Treasurer
- DeLois Gainey, Secretary
- C. J. Amason
- Jane Benson
- Svea Bogue
- Joe Ann Daniel
- Berkeley Minor
- David Nunnally, Sr.
- Marge Schneider
- Anita Stampley
- Kathy Thompson
- Davin Welter
- Dianne Penny Wilson

#### Ex Officio:

- Lane Norton, Executive Director
- Lewis Holloway, Superintendent
- Joan Humphries, Historian
- Mike Wooten, CCSD Liaison

### **2003 AWARDS:**

#### Teacher of Excellence Awards:

- Evelyn Bain, Barrow ES
- Mary Bradbury-Bailey, Cedar Shoals HS
- Susan Cardin, Cleveland Rd. ES
- Thomas Glenn, Clarke MS
- Fannie S. Smith, Burney-Harris-Lyons MS

#### Specialized Awards:

- Cardee Kilpatrick Chair for Teachers of Middle School: Mary Quinn, Hilsman MS
- Ann M. Schindel Chair for Teachers of Mathematics: Shareef Bacchus, Hilsman MS

- Thomas H. Whitehead Chair for Teachers of Science: William Pappas, Cedar Shoals HS
- *Howard B. Stroud Award:* Rosa Ghosheh, Bilingual Parent Liaison, Fourth St. ES
- *Paraprofessional Scholarships:* April Byrd, Chase St. ES; Christina Glenn, CCSD Even Start Program
- *Peggy Thaxton Scholarship for Continuing Education:* Melanie Pittman, Winterville ES
- *Carol Ann Colquitt Memorial Scholarship for Special Education*: Elizabeth Kadlec, Winterville ES
- Mae M. Whatley Teacher of the Year: Letty Fitch, Coile MS

#### Student Awards:

• *Gregg W. Lewis Awards for Scholar Athletes:* Xi Chen, Clarke Central HS; Teerawit Supakorndej, Cedar Shoals HS

#### Classroom Grants:

- *Dr. Jimmy Morris Memorial Fine Arts Grants:* Brenda Poss, Cedar Shoals HS; Michelle Wynn, Barrow ES
- Charlotte and Claude Williams American History Grant: Pat Waldrip, Gaines ES
- Six \$1000 grants; eight \$500 grants; and six \$200 grants were awarded to teachers across the district, for a total of \$11,200.

## **KEY 2003 ACCOMPLISHMENTS:**

- *Arthur Moog Middleton Memorial Media Center Grant* established in memory of Cedar Shoals student Art Middleton to build library of contemporary literature at both high schools. Annual \$500 grant to be divided between schools.
- Williams American History Grant awarded for the first time.
- *Todd Cooper Memorial Tuition Grant* established in memory of Clarke Central student Todd Cooper to provide financial aid to three deserving high school students who need support to stay on track for graduation. \$500 annually.
- *Kathryn H. Hug Instructional Leadership Award* endowed honoring CCSD teacher and administrator (1979-1996) to recognize superior instructional leadership. First \$500 annual award to be given in October, 2004.
- *Teacher of Promise Award* plans initiated to recognize and encourage teachers with fewer than 5 years teaching experience and outstanding professional potential. Committee named to develop criteria and solicit funds.
- *Policy Committee* developed financial policies and guidelines to govern contributions, gifts and endowments, as well as chairs, grants, awards, and scholarships, under the direction of John Whitehead, Treasurer.
- *Classroom Grants Funded*. Davis Family Foundation (\$2500), R.E.M. (\$2500), Bertis & Katherine Downs (\$2500), and Elena Brown (\$1000) provided generous donations to support Classroom Grants.

• *Dell Computer Purchased* for Executive Director Lane Norton to conduct Foundation business.