2004 ANNUAL SUMMARY

2004 TRUSTEES:

- Vivian Fisher, President
- C.J. Amason, President-Elect
- John Whitehead, Treasurer
- Kathy Thompson, Secretary
- Svea Bogue
- Marty Carter
- Peggy Cole
- Joe Ann Daniel
- DeLois Gainey
- Paul Matthews
- Jackie Saindon
- Anita Stampley
- Ken Straughter
- Davin Welter
- Dianne Penny Wilson

Ex Officio:

- Lane Norton, Executive Director
- Lewis Holloway, Superintendent
- Joan Humphries, Historian
- Mike Wooten, CCSD Liaison

2004 AWARDS:

Teacher of Excellence Awards:

- Wanda Claxton, Alps Rd. ES
- Lori Dean, Barnett Shoals ES
- Francine Dalton, Clarke Central HS
- Lili Li, Barrow ES
- Gwen Turner, Clarke Central HS

Specialized Awards:

- Frusanna S. Booth Chair for Teachers of English and Language Arts: Melissa Dupree, Clarke Central HS
- Charlotte Brown Chair for Teachers of Special Education: Erika Douglas, Gaines ES
- Martha Comer Chair for Teachers of Foreign & Classical Languages: Linda Howard, Clarke Central HS

- Lamar Dodd Chair for Teachers of Fine Arts: Beverly Mallon, Alps Rd. ES
- Margaret and Raymond Pondsoldt Chair for Elementary School Teaching: Lili Li, Barrow ES
- Kathryn H. Hug Instructional Leadership Award: Maxine Easom, Clarke Central HS
- Howard B. Stroud Award: Kathleen Smith, CCSD Adaptive Physical Education
- Freida M. Thomas Teacher of Promise Award: Jane Mcneely, Barrow ES
- Paraprofessional Scholarship: Nancy Tisdale, Whit Davis ES
- Peggy Thaxton Scholarship for Continuing Education: Nancy Tisdale, Whit Davis ES
- Mae M. Whatley Teacher of the Year Award: Steve Piazza, Hilsman MS
- Friend of Public Education Award: Alisa DeMao, Athens-Banner Herald

Student Awards:

- Todd Cooper Memorial Tuition Grant: Laura Fahy, Nathaniel McLean
- Gregg W. Lewis Awards for Scholar Athletes: Eve Carson, Clarke Central HS; Mark Cervero, Clarke Central HS

Classroom Grants:

- Dr. Jimmy Morris Memorial Fine Arts Grants: David Osborne, Fourth St. ES; Claire McGee, Whit Davis ES
- Charlotte & Claude Williams American History Grant: Jennifer Cole, Barrow ES
- Citigroup Literacy Grant: Alps Rd. ES, Barrow ES, Clarke Central HS, Clarke MS, Fowler Dr. ES, Gaines ES/Cedar Shoals HS, Hilsman MS, Oglethorpe Ave. ES, Whitehead Rd. ES, Winterville ES— for a total of \$10,000.
- Additional grants were awarded to teachers at Alps Rd. ES, Chase St. ES, Fowler Dr. ES, Alternative Education Program, Barnett Shoals ES, Clarke Central HS, Clarke MS, Hilsman MS, Timothy Rd. ES, Cleveland Rd. ES, and Gaines ES for a total of \$7,600, including the Arthur Moog Middleton Memorial Grant to high school media centers.
- Total of \$19,600 in grant funds targeted innovative teaching.

KEY 2004 ACCOMPLISHMENTS:

- Freida M. Thomas Teacher of Promise Award endowed in memory of long-time teacher of academically gifted students at Alps Road ES. First \$500 award presented to a teacher with fewer than five years teaching experience and outstanding professional potential.
- First Kathryn H. Hug Instructional Leadership Award presented to recognize superior instructional leadership.
- Friend of Public Education Award, non-monetary, presented first time to Alisa DeMao, Athens Banner-Herald for "fair and balanced reporting" of school news.
- CitiGroup Foundation, through Athens Branch of Smith Barney, donated \$10,000 to fund classroom grants designed to increase student literacy skills. An

- Awards Tea for Grant Recipients was initiated in response to CitiGroup's donation, honoring grant recipients, school principals, and outgoing trustees.
- Generous donations, in addition to Hug and Thomas Awards: Sandy Lewis, \$600; Horace Mann, \$1200; Gayle Rogers, \$750; Bertis Downs, \$1200; Davis Foundation, \$2500; Norton Foundation, \$500; Colquitt family, \$2000; Joe Frierson, \$5000; Athens West Rotary, \$1000; Athens First Bank, \$1000; Cleveland Rd. Elementary, \$1100; VP of Public Service & Outreach, UGA, \$500; Athens Health Plan Select, \$250.
- Budget surplus allowed Ponsoldt Elementary Teaching Chair to be endowed at same level as other chairs.
- By-Laws Amended to allow board of trustees to appoint an Investment Advisory Committee to assist treasurer in management of Foundation's investment portfolio.
- *CCSD Web Site Updated* to include user-friendly access to Foundation information, including current nomination/application forms for awards, grants and scholarships.