# 2006 ANNUAL SUMMARY

### 2006 TRUSTEES:

- Davin Welter, President
- Paul Matthews, President-Elect
- Marilyn Appleby, Treasurer
- Barb Wright, Secretary
- Denise Mewborn, BOE Representative
- Guillermo Alzuru
- Barbara Bloom-Fisher
- Marty Carter
- Kremell Johnson
- Julie Knowlton
- Bryan McCullick
- Brenda Poss
- Fausto Sarmiento
- Marta P . Slaughter
- George Thomas

Ex Officio:

- Lane Norton, Executive Director
- Lewis Holloway, Superintendent
- Joan Humphries, Historian
- Mike Wooten, CCSD Liaison
- C. J. Amason, Past President

### 2006 AWARDS:

#### Excellence in Teaching Awards:

- Nancy Baumann, Barnett Shoals ES
- George Bullock, Cedar Shoals HS
- Stephen Castile, Cedar Shoals HS
- Allyson Griffith, Barrow ES
- Cecilia Hyers, Clarke MS

#### Specialized Awards:

- Frusanna S. Booth Award for Teachers of English and Language Arts: David Ragsdale, Clarke Central HS
- Charlotte Brown Award for Teachers of Special Education: Ashlee Wegman, Clarke Central HS

- Lamar Dodd Award for Teachers of Fine Arts: Laura Lee D'Huyvetter, Clarke MS
- Margaret and Raymond Pondsoldt Award for Elementary School Teaching: Wanda Culpepper, Whit Davis ES
- *Kathryn H. Hug Instructional Leadership Award:* Janis Stephens, Early Learning & Family Engagement
- Howard B. Stroud Award: Mary Kelly, Alps Road ES
- Freida M. Thomas Teacher of Promise Award: Yvonne Manley, Alps Rd. ES
- *Elementary School Teaching Paraprofessional Scholarship:* Freda Sims, Fowler Dr. ES; Mudiwa Smith, H.T. Edwards
- Carol Ann Colquitt Memorial Scholarship: Susan Atkinson, Oglethorpe Ave. ES
- Mae M. Whatley Teacher of the Year Award: (none awarded)
- Friend of the Foundation Award: Cheryl Phillips, Community Relations Office, CCSD

#### Student Awards:

- Todd Cooper Memorial Tuition Grant: (none awarded)
- *Gregg W. Lewis Awards for Scholar Athletes:* Erin Hill, Clarke Central HS; Alexander Stephens, Clarke Central HS

#### **Classroom Grants:**

- *Dr. Jimmy Morris Memorial Fine Arts Grant:* \$1000, Mary Lazzari, Framing award winning student art for community display
- Charlotte & Claude Williams American History Grant: Lucille Srivastava, Hilsman ES
- *Other Classroom Grants*: Endowed by The Davis Family Foundation, Joe and Ann Frierson, Bank of America, Dan Minor with Citi Group/Smith Barney. Along with the Morris and Williams Grants and Arthur Middleton Grants, grants totaling \$14,300 were made to the Alternative Education Program, Barnett Shoals ES, Barrow ES, Burney-Harris-Lyons MS, Chase St. ES, Cleveland Rd. ES, Clarke MS, Fourth St. ES, Fowler Dr. ES, Hilsman MS, Whit Davis ES, Winterville ES, Cedar Shoals HS, and Clarke Central HS.

## **KEY 2006 ACCOMPLISHMENTS:**

- *The Classic Center and Lee Epting Catering Sponsored the October Awards Banquet*, changing the venue from the Georgia Center for the first time in its twenty-year history. Additional support was provided through a \$500 gift from Pat Allen in the UGA Development Office.
- *The Classic City Rotary Club* donated \$1000 in support of the Nominees' Luncheon held at Trumps to honor 65 educators nominated for Foundation Awards. Trumps owners, Ron Schwartz and Andree Kosack, provided support for this luncheon and the Classroom Grants Tea held to honor teachers receiving grants.

- Carol Ann Colquitt's family endowed the *Colquitt Memorial Scholarship* for staff members wishing to pursue certification in special education.
- *Teachers of English Language Learners (ELL)* are now eligible for Martha Comer Foreign and Classical Language Award, adding 29 teachers to those who may be nominated.
- *Lane Norton resigned as Executive Director* after 9 years of exemplary leadership, seven and a half as executive director. The Foundation will solicit funds to endow a Lane Norton Literacy Grant in her honor. Mrs. Norton will continue in an ex officio capacity as historian, replacing Joan Humphries who is moving from Athens. John Whitehead, former trustee and current member of the Investment Advisory Committee, has agreed to assume the position of executive director in 2007.