2008 ANNUAL SUMMARY

2008 TRUSTEES:

- Barb Wright, President
- C.J. Amason, President-Elect
- Michael Ripps, Treasurer
- Bryan McCullick, Secretary
- Denise Mewborn, BOE Representative
- Vivian Alford
- Barbara Bloom-Fisher
- Anne Cooper
- Katherine Downs
- Marianne Hale
- Kremell Johnson
- Sherry Malone
- Jenny Penney Oliver
- Brenda Poss
- Reign Streiter

Ex Officio:

- John Whitehead, Executive Director
- James H. Simms, Superintendent
- Lane Norton, Historian
- Cheryl Phillips, Historian
- Mike Wooten, CCSD Liaison
- Paul Matthews, Past President

2008 AWARDS:

Excellence in Teaching Awards:

- Ann Benedek, Fowler Dr. ES
- Harry Cooper, Clarke Central HS
- Beverly Harper, Cleveland Rd. ES
- Mikelle Innes, Timothy ES
- Heather Sitler, Barrow ES

Specialized Awards:

- Frusanna S. Booth Award for Teachers of English and Language Arts: Lindy Cox, Clarke Central HS
- Charlotte Brown Award for Teachers of Special Education: Joy Sims, Alps Rd. ES

- Lamar Dodd Award for Teachers of Fine Arts: Jeff Barnett, Clarke Central HS
- Margaret and Raymond Ponsoldt Award for Teachers of Elementary School: Jennifer Cole, Winterville ES
- Kathryn H. Hug Instructional Leadership Award: Ellen Sabatini, Barrow ES
- Howard B. Stroud Award: Terry Reid, Police Team Leader, Clarke Central HS
- Freida M. Thomas Teacher of Promise Award: Steve Sacco, Clarke MS
- Carol Ann Colquitt Memorial Scholarship for Special Education: Derek Davis, Coile MS
- *Mae M. Whatley Teacher of the Year:* (none awarded)

Student Awards:

- Gregg W. Lewis Memorial Scholarship: Athena Lao, Clarke Central HS; Matthew Nichols, Clarke Central HS
- Marge Schneider Memorial Science Award: Sarah Weber, Cedar Shoals HS; Athena Lao, Clarke Central HS

Classroom Grants:

- Todd Cooper Memorial Technology Grant: Ann LoCiero and Michelle Vecchio-Weinmeister, Clarke MS
- Arthur Moog Middleton Memorial Media Center Grants: Clarke Central HS and Cedar Shoals HS media center
- Dr. Jimmy Morris Memorial Fine Arts Grant: Michelle Wynne, Barrow ES and Linda Moon, Cedar Shoals HS
- Lane Turner Norton Literacy Grant: Becky Lewis and Mary Kelly, Alps Road ES
- Charlotte & Claude Williams American History Grant: Barrow ES teachers
- Marge Schneider Science Grant: Stephen King, Whit Davis ES; Stella Guererro, Cedar Shoals HS
- General Classroom Grants: Funded by Cardee and Jeremy Kilpatrick, Ann and Joe Frierson, and Carl and Sara Glickman, additional grants totaling \$10,200 were made to Barrow ES, Cedar Shoals HS, Chase Street ES, Gaines ES, and Oglethorpe Ave. ES

KEY 2008 ACCOMPLISHMENTS:

- *The Eve Carson Memorial Fund* was created with gifts in memory of Eve Carson, a 2004 Clarke Central graduate who was killed in March 2008. Gifts from over 300 donors in 20 states totaled \$60,000. Uses for the fund were to be finalized in 2009.
- *Belie-v-e Album:* Several of Eve's friends created a memorial CD, "Belie-v-e Songs in Memory of Eve Carson." The CD included a compilation of musical pieces as well as spoken words by Eve's teachers. A release party was held on August 17th at the Melting Point with over 400 guests attending. The album raised over \$6,000 for the Eve Carson Fund.